Temp for Hire.

Telling people I’m a courier at 40 is something I never planned on doing. Of course, when you are a little kid and someone asks you, “What would you like to be as a grownup?” you might have said “trash man” because you wanted to hang on the back of a garbage truck. Or, “ice cream maker,” as Story tells us because she’s crazy for ice cream.

I might have said “courier” as a boy. The idea of going places and delivering something important sounds exciting. It’s a job where people are happy to see you. You’re sort of a hero. But, as an adult who actually makes these real life deliveries in a 1996 Buick Park Avenue to people who don’t smile but just sign an invoice, it feels different. It’s not cute.

Now, I’m being unfair to my car. I try to limit the negative descriptions anyway for selfish reasons. If I tell my car, “You’re an embarrassment to me,” it may not crank next time. But really, I can’t be embarrassed. It’s not even my car. It was literally given to us as a gift over a year ago by an elderly man who was upgrading to a newer model. It’s paid for. It’s made of steel so we are safer than most other drivers.

 

Someone recently gave me another reason to be grateful for this car. They said, “I’ll bet you never get any traffic tickets in that!” Which is true, I guess because the police see it coming and assume grandma is coming to town for groceries.

I could talk all day about this gift we were given and how faithful it has been to safely deliver us to various destinations. Really our car (not really our car) is like a courier. It makes us smile. Maybe that’s all the thanks it needs.

Back to my job as a courier. I didn’t expect to be doing this. I was happy in a more “professional,” “career-oriented” job. But I was let go from that job, which admittedly was a blow. This happened a day after our church agreed to send us out as missionaries with a large amount of financial support. As large as that amount was, it wasn’t close to 100% so I was worried. 

I was worried this wasn’t sinking in for Amy. When I came home to talk about this, she didn’t cry or crumble. Instead, she reassured me. Her work had picked up some which could make up some of the difference. And then she said something which reminded me again that I married an angel:

“God has always taken care of us. He is faithful. He will provide for us now.” 

I found a job next week that piqued my interest. I wasn’t going to look for another “career-oriented” job. We thought it would be best to find something temporary that could keep us on track with our fundraising. Something that would even give me more opportunities to have coffees and lunches with potential supporters. It was a courier service looking for a  “Hot Shot Driver”.

What I saw when I found that ad was “Someone who can drive long distances and make fundraising calls, and get still get paid”. And, I’ve been doing that for four months now.

This temp job has really served a greater purpose. It’s prepared my thinking for what it’s like to be a missionary. In a larger sense, the entire Williams family will be couriers. As we embark on a much longer trip in God’s time, we will carry an infinitely more important package — the love of God. 

We press forward with the imagined faces of those who receive this package with smiling faces. That will be our full time job. Holding down this temp job now is worth the joy we will share then.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wow Doug…you did marry an angel. My wife would NOT have said that..lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

